User management

This tutorial deals with some of the main aspects of user management and focuses on group-oriented rights management.

Assigning rights to groups

We strongly recommend that you manage rights using groups rather than on a user-by-user basis.

For this reason, groups need to be created first. The advantage of using this unified way of assigning rights is that the rights of individual users are derived from the rights of the group. It is much more time consuming if you were to assign individual rights directly.

FAQ: What happens if I delete a user that has checked in versions? Will versiondog prevent me from deleting this user? Will the versions that said user checked in be deleted as well?

If an administrator deletes a user, it is of no importance whether the user has checked in a version. Even when a user is deleted, all their versions, which they checked in, will remain unchanged on the server. Documentation related to these versions will remain unchanged. Details such as the user's name (as well as the timestamp and the computer) can be seen in the Change history even after a user has been deleted.

It is possible to delete users who are currently logged into versiondog . If a deleted user tries to Check-In or Check-Out a component, an error message will be displayed; the user will no longer be able to login.

To FAQ list

Related topics

Active directory binding